• 0 items
  • $0.00
Image of Beautiful Sorrows

Beautiful Sorrows


Beautiful Sorrows... delicate prose with devastating impact. Mercedes Yardley is a female Joe Hill, and I fear her ‘Broken’ will haunt me to my grave.” —F. Paul Wilson


There is a place where sorrows pile up like snow and rest in your hair like cherry blossoms. Boys have wings, monsters fall in love, women fade into nothingness, and the bones of small children snap like twigs. Darkness will surely devour you—but it will be exquisitely lovely while doing so.

Mercedes M. Yardley’s Beautiful Sorrows is an ephemeral collection encompassing twenty-seven short tales full of devastation, death, longing, and the shining ribbon of hope that binds them all together.

Table of Contents:

* The Daughter of Achelos: A Paean to Friendship (Introduction)
* Broken
* Black Mary †
* Flat, Flat World
* Extraordinary Beast †
* The Boy Who Hangs the Stars
* Untied
* The Container of Sorrows
* A Place of Beauty
* Music to Jump By
* Axes †
* The Quiet Places Where Your Body Grows
* Show Your Bones
* The ABCs of Murder
* A Place Shielded from Horrors
* Crosswise Cosmos Sabotage
* Life
* Luna e Volk †
* Stars
* Wings
* Sweet, Sweet Sonja T
* Blossom Bones
* Edibility
* Heartless
* Pixies Don’t Get Names
* Ava
* She Called Him Sky
* Big Man Ben
* Beautiful Notes (Story Notes)

† Honorable mention in the Best Horror of the Year Volume 5 anthology, edited by Ellen Datlow.

Product Details:

Artwork by by Yannick Bouchard (www.illusorydreams.com)

Trade Paperback
196 pages
6" x 9"

Digital Copies:

For other regions, see your specific Amazon website. For ePub editions, please contact us directly.


Darkeva's Dark Delights
Horror Fiction Review
Horror World